Cadence Weapon - Afterparty Babies CD [Big Dada]Following on from his critically-acclamed debut "Breaking Kayfabe", Cadence Weapon aka Rollie Pemberton returns with the epic "Afterparty Babies". Dedicated to 'all the accidents out there', the record is a testament to Rollie Pemberton's first influence, his father, Teddy Pemberton.

A native of Brooklyn, NY, Mr. Pemberton created The Black Sound Experience radio show on the University of Alberta's CSJR station in 1980, and is credited with introducing hip-hop to Rollie's hometown of Edmonton, the capital city of Alberta.

Rollie says he, "wanted to make music that afterparty babies are created to", and the Afterparty Babies experience takes shape from this premise. But Pemberton's route into this theme is through stories of friends and feelings, crews and club nights, hometowns and heroes, media and fashion. This thoughtfulness, though, is tied to punishing, uptempo electronic music which is a million miles from the safe world of 'underground hip hop'. Afterparty Babies is an almost indescribable explosion of ideas, feelings and musical vision fuelled by Mr. Weapon's experiences over the last few years as a writer, producer, touring artist and club DJ.

Pemberton has played shows with Spank Rock, Lady Sovereign, Jurassic 5, TTC, New Pornographers, Final Fantasy, and De La Soul. He has rocked guest performances with The Klaxons, Hot Chip and Islands; he remixed Lady Sovereign, Kid Sister, Disco D, Busdriver he's been featured on tracks with Buck 65 and Anti MC. But more than any name-dropping, this 21 year old deserves to be judged on the strength of his music alone.

Funny, heartfelt, fiendishly clever, testosterone-pumped, sensitive, a pure aderenalin rush, "Afterparty Babies" is the real thing - a unique, genuinely original hip hop record.

"My dad said I was an afterparty baby; this goes out to all the accidents out there; keep on making mistakes" - from "Do I Miss My Friends?"

Album Release Date:
3rd March. "In Seach of the Youth Crew" Single out February 18th.

Cadence Weapon - Afterparty Babies CD [Big Dada]

Track List:

01. Do I Miss My Friends
02. In Search Of The Youth Crew
03. True Story
04. Limited Edition OJ Slammer
05. Juliann Wilding
06. Real Estate
07. Messages Matter
08. Your Hair's Not Clothes
09. Tattoos
10. The New Face Of Fashion
11. Getting Dumb
12. House Music
13. Unsuccessful Club Nights
14. We Move Away

youtube bhh channel

Selected Articles:

Rhyme Asylum - State Of Luncay LP [White]
Rhyme Asylum - State Of Luncay LP [White]

Rhyme Asylum are the UK’s version of Non Phixion and that’s a good thing. Remember their [ ... ]

Blaq Poet And DJ Premier Announce European Tour Fo...
Blaq Poet And DJ Premier Announce European Tour For Late March

Blaq Poet, who is readying the spring release of his new album, Tha Blaqprint, is heading across the [ ... ]

Mr Shaodow - Coming To A Speaker Near You CD [Elem...
Mr Shaodow - Coming To A Speaker Near You CD [Elementz Bound]

Mr Shaodow (pronounced Sha-ow-dough) from the group Elementz Bound is a London rapper who is now stu [ ... ]

Dan Bull - Safe CD [Freshnut]
Dan Bull - Safe CD [Freshnut]

In the days of hip hop where there are too many artists and not enough fans, too much biting and not [ ... ]

Dirty Diggers - The Pleasure Is All Mine LP [Zebra...
Dirty Diggers - The Pleasure Is All Mine LP [Zebra Traffic]

The Dirty Diggers have not been getting enough love around these parts. I have to confess I started  [ ... ]



  • Subscribe in a reader
  • Subscribe to britishhiphop by Email