Unfriendly Neighbours - Starvin Artist Movement Mixtape Volume 1 CD [Rusty Jukebox]Joe Gutta (aka Gordon Bennett) and Bigga Man are MC’s from the West Midlands who have come together to form the Unfriendly Neighbours and release their superb mixtape Starvin Artist Movement Volume 1 onto the unsuspecting public.

The dynamic duo have brought along their friends for the ride including producers 2nd Suzpect, Sneakthief and Kroscene and British MC’s from across the board including Verbal Remedy, Revilo, SonnyJim, Swift It Major, Reggiimental and Switch. With 1 hour and 22 tracks of lyrical wizardry over some tight beats the pair not only prove their talents as rappers but their potential for big success on the scene. And even better than that the album is downloadable for free!

Opening with “Movin” an introduction to the mixtape and the rappers themselves they carry on the prologue in “U.K State of Mind” which perfectly sets out the style and tone of the album. The boys’ flows are part cutting comedic quips, part dark denouncements but all brilliant and all British. This is demonstrated throughout the album but specifically on “Just Spit!” with SonnyJim and the two “Flow Jangles” tracks where Bigga and Gutta get separate solo spots to show off their verbal prowess.

The mixtape has several true bangers the first coming early on in the form of “Famous” some wicked bassy business with a catchy chorus and some smart rhymes about the celebrity culture that enslaves our tiny island. Fame comes up several times on “Who I Am”, “What Would You Do” and “Starvin’ Artist” all of which detail the double act’s past trials and tribulations and the hard road to recognition U.K rappers face.

Unfriendly Neighbours

Sex and girls is another reoccurring subject close to the twosomes heart (or should that be lower down!) coming up on “Feel My Face”, “Pervert” and “Little Girl” produced by Sneakthief and the superb “Looks To Kill”. This killer track with its quick stepping Ska beats and ragamuffin chorus is so good it gets a remix at the end of the album featuring added lyrics from Reggiimental and Switch.

“Looks To Kill” isn’t the only reggae influenced track as “Break Away” featuring Revilo is smokily filled with dubby vibes courtesy of producer 2nd Suzpect and “Bam Bam” with Parly B uses a classic reggae sample to create a excellent skanking tune with massive crossover potential.

Unfriendly Neighbours

Elsewhere “Beg, Steal Or Borrow” sees the guys showing a darker deeper side lyrically echoed by the soulful vocal of Lynne Riley. The glitchy guitars and down tempo production of Kroscene demonstrate the variety on offer and the rappers ability to spit over several styles.

The album finishes with “Underground” featuring Switch a great head-nodding track to close an excellent head-nodding album. The Starvin Artist Movement Mixtape is packed with tunes that beg for a reload not only to hear the great production but also to enjoy the cleaver and hilarious rhymes Joe Gutta and Bigga Man spit over them.

These guys may call themselves Unfriendly Neighbours but when they’re giving away such a brilliant album for free they are the best friends you could ever have!

By: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Starvin' Artist Movement Vol.1 Link (Free Download):

Unfriendly Neighbours - Starvin Artist Movement Mixtape Volume 1 CD [Rusty Jukebox]

Track List:

01. Movin
02. U.K State Of Mind
03. Example Skit
04. Famous (Example Dub)
05. Don't Step Feat Verbal Remedy
06. I Can't Feel My Face
07. Starvin' Artist
08. Flow Jangles (Bigga)
09. Looks To Kill
10. Break Away Feat Revilo (Prod. 2nd Suzpect)
11. Pervert
12. What Would You Do
13. Just Spit! Feat SonnyJim (Prod. Sneakthief)
14. Holy Moly (Prod. 2nd Suzpect)
15. Beg, Steal Or Borrow Feat Lynne Riley (Prod. Kroscene)
16. Flow Jangles (Gutta)
17. Little Girl (Prod. Sneakthief)
18. Put Your Face With It Feat Swift It Major
19. Bam Bam Feat Parly B
20. Who I Am
21. Underground Feat Switch
22. Looks To Kill Remix Feat Reggiimental & Switch

Unfriendly Neighbours - Starvin Artist Movement Mixtape Volume 1 CD [Rusty Jukebox]

Unfriendly Neighbours

Unfriendly Neighbours

youtube bhh channel

Selected Articles:

CRO Beats Vol. III : Road Scriptures CD [SwitchA D...
CRO Beats Vol. III : Road Scriptures CD [SwitchA D.com]

CRO Beats Vol. III : Road Scriptures is the latest release from SwitchA D, one of London’s hot [ ... ]

Isaiah - Prince of Soul - Biography
Isaiah - Prince of Soul - Biography

Isaiah is about to take the music industry by storm. He exhibits all the traits of a future supersta [ ... ]

Blak Twang: So Rotton
Blak Twang: So Rotton

Ten years deep into the game and veteran UK rapper Blak Twang is still making bangers. Twang aka Ton [ ... ]

J-Dilla Tribute - From Beyond The Stage
J-Dilla Tribute - From Beyond The Stage

In a week filled with both celebration and remembrance, the UK hip hop fraternity came out in force  [ ... ]

NSPCC Calls On Brown To Take urgent Action
NSPCC Calls On Brown To Take urgent Action

Violence is 'a major problem for young people nowadays' for 81% of children, reveals a new s [ ... ]



  • Subscribe in a reader
  • Subscribe to britishhiphop by Email