Moka Only And Chief - Crickets EP [Feelin Music]Canadian rapper / producer Moka Only teams up with Swiss beatmaker Chief for the finest indie hip-hop album you might hear this year, "Crickets". The album showcases the talent of two very gifted artists, pushing the boundaries of hip-hop while preserving its backbone. The album showcases Moka Only's unique raps fused with Chief's sound signature of merging straight hip-hop elements with forward-thinking production.

Moka Only and Chief first collaborated in 2008 on the tracks "Do Work" and "Felt Before", and soon after Moka Only released his album "Lowdown Suite 2 - The Box" on Chief's label Feelin' Music.

A good connection and the fact that each artist seemed to get the best out of the other convinced Moka Only and Chief to deepen the collaboration and have this natural flow of united work result in a full-length album, so in 2010 they started getting busy with this.

The result is "Crickets", a smashing collision between two creative minds with strong backgrounds in hip-hop which coupled with borderless imagination bring you more than "just another hip-hop album".

The album confirms the genuinely productive union of Moka Only and Chief's abilities, it is the finely crafted and accomplished result of two artists naturally complementing each other's ideas.

From moody ambiences, bewitching loops and hybrid beats to sophisticated soulful beats or mesmerizing urban soundscapes, "Crickets" exhibits a rich pallet of atmospheres and attitudes with a smart and creative approach.

Blending deft production with unique raps, "Crickets" truly is a refreshing hip-hop exploit from two driving forces in the hip-hop scene.

Moka Only's record label is currently running a remix competition giving budding beatmakers the chance to rework Mess Around and win the prize of getting featured on the next Moka Only remix digital release. Head on over to the link below. Get your remixes in before 20th of November.

Moka Only is embarking on a European tour. See the dates below.

  • 11.11.2011 On The Real / East Village, London, UK
  • 12.11.2011 Roxy Club, Vienna, Austria
  • 13.11.2011 Belle villoise, Paris, France
  • 16.11.2011 London Calling, Brussel, Belgium
  • 17.11.2011 Exil, Zürich, Switzerland
  • 18.11.2011 Romandie, Lausanne, Switzerland
  • 19.11.2011 Flon, St. Gallen, Switzerland
  • 24.11.2011 Subway, Cologne, Germany
  • 26.11.2011 Bohannon, Berlin, Germany

youtube bhh channel

Selected Articles:

London Riots 2011 - Time For Change
London Riots 2011 - Time For Change

I wrote these lyrics while helicopters were flying overhead and sirens blazed through the streets, I [ ... ]

Atmosphere Release New Album In April
Atmosphere Release New Album In April

Slug and producer Ant are set to release their highly anticipated sixth official studio album When L [ ... ]

PYMCA Photo Print Range Available At Produkt UK!

Produkt are delighted to offer up a selection of exclusive PYMCA prints. Each photo is limited to 50 [ ... ]

Low Life Records Presents: 'Life Before 40'
Low Life Records Presents: 'Life Before 40'

As the summer winds down the quality of releases heats up. UK's finest hip hop imprint, Lowlife Reco [ ... ]

Middle 8 At The Elbow Rooms, Leeds
Middle 8 At The Elbow Rooms, Leeds

There is a new night going off in Leeds called the Middle 8. It is going to be at the Elbow Rooms on [ ... ]



  • Subscribe in a reader
  • Subscribe to britishhiphop by Email