- Check here for the entire history of Hip Hop in the British Isles and a comprehensive database of UK Hip Hop releases.
Tuesday, 21 January 2020
Main Menu
Contact Us
News Feeds
Site Pre Oct '05
BHH Myspace
Any donation you can make will help keep the site online.
Donate towards my web hosting bill!
2005 International Songwriting Competition (ISC) Announces R&B/Hip-Hop Winners
User Rating: / 5
Written by Administrator   
Tuesday, 11 April 2006
2005 International Songwriting Competition (ISC) Announces R&B/Hip-Hop WinnersApril 11, 2006 -- The International Songwriting Competition (ISC) is pleased to announce the winners for its 2005 annual competition. ISC received almost 15,000 entries from 82 countries in its fourth year, and has been called "the songwriting competition to take note of" by the New York Times. ISC prizes include more than $150,000 (USD) in cash and merchandise shared by 50 winners in 16 categories.

"What We've Lost", by Grover Zinn and Dena Chutuk (The Deadly Twins), has been awarded First Place in the R&B/Hip-Hop category. Zinn has made records with Eminem and has worked with Grammy-nominated rappers such as Mystic, Planet Asia and Killah Priest. He has also collaborated with such hip-hop luminaries as Cut Chemist (Jurassic 5) and Iriscience (Dilated Peoples). A songstress extraordinaire, Dena has worked with the likes of Tricky, DJ Muggs (Cypress Hill), Scott Storch, and more.

Second Place honors have been awarded to Ruben Dario and Sporty Loco for their song "Addicted, ,and Third Place honors have been awarded to "Got You Caught" by Canadian artist Langdon Auger.

In addition to these winners, 11 other R&B/Hip-Hop songs garnered placement in the top 1.4% of the competition.

A complete list of R&B/Hip-Hop winners includes:

First Place
"What We've Lost" -- Grover Zinn and Dena Chutuk (The Deadly Twins) - Marina Del Rey, CA, USA

Second Place
"Addicted" -- Ruben Dario, Sporty Loco - New Hall, CA, USA

Third Place
"Got You Caught" -- Langdon Auger, Victoria, BC, Canada

Honorable Mentions
"All Around The World" -- Jacob Washington, Joshua Washington, Rachael Washington (The Souljahz), Chris Rodriguez - Captain Cook, HI, USA "Boombip" -- Brandon S. Lucas (Young Sin), Chin Injeti - Vancouver, BC, Can ada "Bulldozer" -- Kurt Johnson - Orinda, CA, USA "C'est Pas De Notre Faute" -- Ray Ray, Adil Takhssait - Montreal, QC, Canada "Fall Back" -- Emmanuel Afilaka, Andrew Bayon, Marlon Peters (Choong Family) - London, England "Get A Job" -- Tiana Hux, Craig Honeycutt, Steve Van Dam - New Orleans, LA, USA "Houla La" -- Hamid Ounnabi (Youbenn) - Paris, France "Life Time" -- Rasheem Pugh, Vada Nobles - Piscataway, NJ, USA "Love It Man" -- Quinton Hardin - Dallas, TX, USA "Real, True Love" -- Gary D. Hines (Sounds Of Blackness) - Minneapolis, MN, USA "Speedbag" -- Will Wright (R.A.W.child), Nick Apa - Gananoque, ON, Canada

ISC is now accepting entries for 2006. ISC is pleased to announce that the Overall Grand Prize for 2006 has been increased and now includes a $25,000 cash prize, the largest cash Grand Prize of any songwriting competition. Visit for more information and entry forms.

For a complete list of all ISC winners, please go to:

Judges for the 2005 competition include: Tom Waits; Loretta Lynn; Sonny Rollins; John Scofield; Steve Vai; Macy Gray; Joss Stone; MercyMe; Amy Ray (Indigo Girls); Darryl McDaniels (Run D.M.C.); LeAnn Rimes; Isaac Brock (Modest Mouse); Jeff Stinco (Simple Plan); BeBe Winans; Peter Hook (New Order); Benji Madden (Good Charlotte); Charlie Musselwhite; The Donnas; Monte Lipman (President, Universal Records); Keith Wozencroft (President, Capitol Music UK); Glen Barros (CEO/President, Concord Records); Bruce Iglauer (Founder/President, Alligator Records); Cameron Strang (President, New West Records); Dan Storper (President, Putumayo World Music); Michael McDonald (President, ATO Records); Alexandra Patsavas (Owner, The Chop Shop Music Supervision - credits include The OC, Grey's Anatomy, Without A Trace, Carnivale, Rescue Me ); Darrale Jones (VP A&R Urban, Atlantic Records); Chris Parr (VP Music Programming & Talent Relations, CMT); Barbara Sedun (VP Creative, EMI Music Publishing Canada); Tara Griggs-Magee (Executive VP of Gospel/Urban Music, Sony Records); Leib Ostrow (CEO, Music For Little People), Thomas Brooman (Co-Founder/Artistic Director, WOMAD); Cory Robbins (Founder/President, Robbins Entertainment); Emily Wittmann (Vice-President, Nick Records); Patrick Moxey (President, Ultra Records/You Records/Sequence Records/ Escondida Music/Empire Mgmt.) and Danny Epstein (Music Supervisor, Sesame Street/Sesame Workshop).

2005 Sponsors include: Epiphone, ASCAP, Berklee College Of Music, L.R. Baggs, Disc Makers, Alphabet Arm Design, FYE, Cakewalk, Fishman Transducers, ADK Microphones, Moog Music, Sam Ash Music Stores, Sibelius, Planetary Group, Hear Technologies, Music Registry, Mediaguide, ArtistMonitor,, Musician's Atlas, Sonicbids and

International Songwriting Competition
211 Seventh Avenue North, Suite LL-20
Nashville, TN 37219
Phone: 615.251.4441
Fax: 615.251.4442

Did you enjoy this? Please share or bookmark with:

Related Items:

Newer Items:

Older Items:

< Prev   Next >

Have the police persecuted Giggs in cancelling his shows?
Latest Updates
Selected Items
Da Flyy Hooligan ft. Hus Kingpin - Distress Signals

article thumbnail

Read Story
Carpetface - Don't Get It Twisted MP3 [NewBias]

article thumbnail

Read Story
London's Da Flyy Hooligan Premieres New Video On Complex And Signs With US Label

article thumbnail

Read Story
  • Subscribe in a reader
  • Subscribe to britishhiphop by Email

1999-2017 / QED