Blak Twang - Dettwork Southeast LP [Sony]

Sony Music have announced the release of the legendary “lost” debut Blak Twang album ‘Dettwork SouthEast‘ on Monday 22nd September. An un-released British masterpiece that has reached almost mythical status, and undoubtedly the holy grail of UK hip-hop, the album has been re-mastered and includes a brand new 2014 bonus track, ‘Dettwork London Revisited (Dettwork SouthEast Remix)‘.

The revisited version now features Jehst, Rodney P and Samson aka Black The Ripper – each repping their corner of the city over a new Harry Love production. BBC Radio 1’s Charlie Sloth premiered the track which met with widespread excitement amongst the show’s listeners.

Considered an all-time classic of the genre, ‘Dettwork SouthEast’ (a pun on the rail company Network SouthEast) was ranked at No.3 in the Hip-Hop Connection list of the Top 50 UK hip-hop LPs, even though it never got past an initial test press and small promotional-only (not for sale) run on cassette for journalists in advance of what should have been its official release in 1996. For what later became an album of scarce availability amongst music aficionados, its influence upon the UK hip-hop scene is undoubted. Both singles from the album, ‘Real Estate‘, and the title track, ‘Dettwork SouthEast‘, gained widespread recognition upon release, which served to only further fuel the cult-like status the album is now known for; an absolute lost gem.

However, at last ‘Dettwork SouthEast’ is finally set to be given a full UK release with its original track listing and packaging, including collaborations with Roots Manuva, Seanie T and Fallacy plus the aforementioned bonus 2014 track ‘Dettwork London Revisited (Dettwork SouthEast Remix)’. The album will be available on CD, 2LP vinyl and digital download.

“For the ‘Dettwork SouthEast’ album to finally get a release now, as it deserved when it was first recorded in 1996, is quite incredible. The reason this has been possible is really due to the fans, who have been the never-ending fuel that have kept the fire blazing and the engines running. It was the genesis of my career and really defined what I’ve gone on to achieve since then, so for everyone to get behind this project and truly believe in it has been amazing!” – Blak Twang

Blak Twang Biography

Blak Twang (born Tony Olabode, England), better known as Tony Rotton, is a British rapper who grew up in Deptford, Lewisham, South East London.

Blak Twang is famed for his live performances all around the world and his ability, especially in his earlier recordings, to include various South London word usage and slang as well as locations without sounding too obvious, making him a firm favourite with English hip-hop fans as the original, “Hip-Hop Geezer”.

Release Date: 22nd September 2014

Dettwork Southeast Track List:

01. Stand Clear Of The Doors
02. Dettwork SouthEast
03. Fearless
04. Heads & Tales
05. Tai Boxing
06. Crème De La Crop
07. Entrepreneurs (Alongside Drezzo the Brigadier of The Bloodhoundz)
08. Growing Up
09. Paralytic Monkey ft. Fallacy
10. Real Estate
11. B.S. Survivah
12. Echo Chamber (In combo with Roots Manuva and Seanie T)
13. Rhyming is Forever
14. Dettwork London Revisited (Dettwork SouthEast Remix) ft. Jehst, Rodney P, Samson aka Black the Ripper

Blak Twang - Dettwork Southeast LP [Sony]

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.