Dr Syntax - Benny Huge LP [Dented]

UK rap legend Dr Syntax is back with Benny Huge, his long-awaited second solo album on Dented Records. From the massive fanfare opener Standard Procedure through to the epic prog rock-sampling finale The Bird Has Flown, its clear that Syntax has delivered a phenomenal sophomore release easily worthy of its predecessor, 2007's critically acclaimed Self Taught (named one of Hip Hop Connection's top 50 UK albums of all time).

Syntax's trademark social commentary and deadpan wit are sharper than ever. Big Business likens a youth's descent into a life of crime to a corporate career path, with each verse taking the form of a performance review, culminating with the inevitable jail sentence being heralded as an indication of having 'hit the big time'. Syntax is a world apart from the champagne-popping chart rapper du jour – this is honest and well crafted hip hop from an artist with a truly refreshing and distinctly British approach to the genre.

Sardonic humour is the order of the day on Calm Down (in which Syntax tells an anonymous drunken female, "I'd rather end up with hairy palms than pull a wench who has started to resemble an eccentric aunt"). Similarly, Hire Me, the massive first single, is a self-deprecating antithesis of a job interview sure to strike a chord with a disenfranchised UK workforce. The Pete Cannon-produced dancefloor stomper 'Jump Up!' has already had crowds going bananas during Syntax's recent UK tour with the world famous Foreign Beggars, while There's Got To Be More's hectic amen drums, old skool rave styling and blistering delivery are guaranteed to put parties on smash.

While Syntax proves he is more than capable of holding down vocal duties throughout, two features from Lewis Recordings' Stig Of The Dump on Stress and Make Things Happen are as breathtaking as you'd expect from one of the most no-holds-barred emcees in the game. Elsewhere, DJ Manipulate massacres This Fresh with some incredible scratching its little wonder that the three artists put on one of the most renowned and energetic hip hop shows the UK has ever produced when they tour together.

Following a summer of moshpit-inspiring performances with Foreign Beggars at the Glastonbury festival, Germany's Splash! festival and Czech Republics Hip Hop Kemp festival, Dr Syntax is set to tear up the UK touring circuit this winter.

Dr Syntax - Benny Huge LP [Dented]

Track List:

01. Standard Procedure 03:16
02. Calm Down 03:44
03. Cock Block 03:24
04. Jump Up! 02:20
05. Number One 01:53
06. Stress 03:56
07. Hire Me 03:18
08. Big Business 04:04
09. This Fresh 03:04
10. Benny Huge 02:04
11. Make Things Happen 03:31
12. There's Got To Be More 03:18
13. The Bird Has Flown 02:58

By Admin

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.