Moke and Tone - Shot Heard Round The World LP [Coalmine]

Moke and Tone are the two man hip-hop consortium consisting of the Cali-born, Bronx-bred Mokeout of Hardtimes Records and the Massachusetts-based Tone of The Problemaddicts (Mystika Music, LLC); ranked in 2009 as's "Next 1000".

Set for an 12th April release date, Shot Heard Round The World is Moke and Tone's debut LP which delicately walks the divide between street and conscious rap, addressing a wide brush stroke of themes that range from the powers of good versus evil, overzealous emcees fighting for position, 911 conspiracy theories, and the call for alarm in this uncertain world.

Produced extensively by Mystika Music's in-house production crew Team Genius, Shot Heard Round The World also boasts production from Illmind (50 Cent, Eminem, Little Brother), J Clyde (Young Buck, Heltah Skeltah) and features precision turntablism courtesy of The Problemaddicts own DJ Theory. The LP also includes guest features such as Slaughterhouse's Crooked I, Brooklyn Academy's Mr. Metaphor, Catalyst and Vorheez (of The Problemaddicts).

Tone makes the following statement regarding the release of Shot Heard Around The World. "This LP is the culmination of two years of effort. In my opinion, it’s the most polished and cohesive project I’ve ever had a hand in creating. I truly feel that I grew as an artist throughout the course of this album's development, both as producer and lyricist. Moke is one of the dopest emcees I've ever had the pleasure of working with. Big ups to all the contributing musicians who helped bring Shot Heard to life; it was definitely a group effort that spanned beyond Moke and myself. Hope y'all enjoy the show!"

Already off to a strong start, The album's first single "Respect" peaked as the number three college hip-hop single in the USA. The release of Shot Heard Around The World will coincide with a full-scale radio campaign for both the entire LP (where it will be charted through CMJ) in addition to the follow-up single "Destiny", produced by Illmind. Both Moke and Tone have their targets locked for next Tuesday, 12th April; mark your calendars and take cover!

Moke and Tone - Shot Heard Round The World LP [Coalmine]


01. F*ck Y’all (feat. DJ Theory)
02. Sh*t is a Trip
03. Shining (feat. DJ Theory)
04. Respect (feat. 1ne Man Sound, Black Buddha, Crooked I, Mr. Metaphor & DJ Theory)
05. False Flags (feat. Tools)
06. Emergency Broadcast
07. Destiny
08. Pitch Black
09. The Dark And The Light (feat. Catalyst)
10. This Thing of Ours (feat. Vorheez)
11. My Life (feat. Toussaint The Liberator)
12. Shining (Tone’s Dubstep Remix)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.