Rollo - Echoes

If you have ever delved into the history of Cardiff Hip-hop, you will be fully aware of master-multi-manipulator ‘Rollo‘. Born in Manchester but Cardiff through and through, Rollo is a beast on the microphone and a gentleman in conversation. An all round stand up man who would be the envy of most in a cypher!

Bard Picasso Records snapped Rollo up as one of their first signings to the label in early 2021, and since doing so have released many projects including re-released material that never got the attention that it so thoroughly deserved!

Back with the biggest bang, “Echoes” is an emotional rollercoaster ride. Twisting lyrics, and bending wordplay, looped with chopper style flows, “Echoes” is a sheer masterpiece of music! Touching on topics such as lockdown and how it affected the mental health and restricted everyone to their own thoughts, some considered lockdown a blessing for creative reasons, but Rollo describes the darker side to being trapped in your own mind.

Monochrome” is a beautifully haunting and melancholy song that brushes on personal demons “make peace with the fact that I’ll never be the same, the fact is my brains a beast, that I could never tame“.

“Echoes” is out now on Bard Picasso Records on all digital streaming platforms.

Words by: Bill Shakesbeard


Bard Picasso

Track List

  1. Intro
  2. Vanish
  3. Blank Wall
  4. Bukowski Interlude
  5. Like Life
  6. Monochrome
  7. Echo
  8. Beauty Interlude
  9. Slow It Down
  10. We Breathe
  11. 09.02.15
  12. The Light
Rollo - Echoes

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.