Right, this CD confused me immensely. Upon receipt I thought it was from a new act, but upon closer inspection it seems that it is from someone we have heard from before. Although there was no press info that came with the CD, or I lost it, so apologies for the detective work if it is wrong.

Apparently the artist formerly known as Priceless has undergone a transformation and become Southey The Great. What was the reason for this? I can’t say, but it could be to try out another persona and to come at this music lark from another angle. Or it is a wheeze to kick start a career? Take your pick.

01. Live In The Club
02. Never Give It Up
03. Just Watch
04. Emma Jane
05. Sick Sick South
06. Make No Mistake
07. Bad Day
08. You Ain’t Ready
09. I Told You So
10. War
11. Show You
12. I Want You To Know
The CD is a reasonable 12 tracks in length and strarts off with Live In The Club which has a great use of jazzy samples to form a very acoustic sounding offering and you can imagine Southey delivering this in a smoky working man’s club. Southey still has the clarity to come over strong and clearly and on Never Give It Up he touches on the setbacks he has had in his career to date and what he has done to overcome these situations and as such demonstrates Southey’s determination.

Just Watch has a bouncy aggressive feel whereas Emma Jane offers a tale of a night out in the pub when Southey tries to get with the barmaid who works there, but as soon as he gets the digits he has to deal with her angered fiancé and has to jet before the boys in blue arrive. The title track Sick Sick South has a bit of a disappointing beat as Southey bigs up his manor and describes what it is like in the South, which is likened to the wild West.

Make No Mistake follows with a thumping beat which asks the listeners to bounce. On this Southey tries to sound hard, but because of this can go a bit high pitched. Bad Day opens with an alarm going off and as this suggests the track takes the form of a chronological walk through a day in Southey’s life. Taking in topics like public transport, rainy weather, and working a 9-5 you can see how stresses can build until one flips out.

Orchestral strings and a big kick drum open You Ain’t Ready, which almost immediately changes up its vibe with a repeating gated ‘ohh’ type effect. Southey obviously has a bit of a chip on his shoulder because of how he has been received before and this comes out here again. I Told You So has a self composed backing with some female singing in the chorus.

Sirens and a menacing laugh open War in which Southey brings it to anyone who wishes to challenge and demands respect. The penultimate track Show You is another chance for Southey to represent his area, with the second verse getting a bit political and the third exploring some of the issues that Hip Hop is currently facing as it loses its way. The whole album is finished off with I Want You To Know another well put together beat which brings us full circle as Southey details his wishes and desires for the future.

All of Southey’s tracks are produced in his home studio and he does a good job with the mixdown with it all sounding of a distributable standard. I have to say that I like Southey’s style and so am looking forward to more offerings from this individual.

By Admin

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.