Various Artists - From Dubplate to Download 2xCD [Greensleeves]

Since its humble beginnings as a record shop over three decades ago, Greensleeves Records has slowly grown into an international institution. Indeed, the label has been at the forefront of every emerging style of reggae since its inception – from the roots and dub revolution to the digital revolution, from Dancehall to One Drop and from Ragga to Bashment.

As a result, generations have grown up with Greensleeves as the soundtrack to their reggae live. While teenagers log on to hear the latest Elephant Man track, middle aged folk remember where they were when they first heard Dr. Alimantado’s “Born For a Purpose” in 1977.

From Dubplate to Download features 30 tracks – one track from every year of Greensleeves history. From classics like “Born For a Purpose” to Tony Matterhorn’s injury inducing “Dutty Whine”, with no less than 5 top 20 chart hits in between – Shaggy’s “Oh Carolina”, Mr Vegas’ “Heads High”, Beenie Man’s “Who Am I”, Wayne Wonder’s “No Letting Go” and Tippa Irie’s “Hello Darling”.

While From Dubplate to Download will see physical release on September 3rd, the double-disc compilation will be made available at digital and mobile retailers a full week in advance. In addition, Itunes will bundle a PDF booklet along with each purchase that includes all of the goodies packaged in the physical product – exclusive images and interviews with the label’s founders, along with quotes and stories from artists. The compilation features tracks from a wide array of artists, both old and new, including Beenie Man, Barrington Levy, Wailing Souls, Eek-a-Mouse, Yellowman, Gregory Isaacs, Shabba Ranks, Garnett Silk, Bounty Killer, Sizzla and many, many more.

From Dubplate To Download hits shelves on September 3rd, but will be available digitally a week earlier – August 28th in the states and August 27th in the UK.

This the best of Greensleeves Records.

Digital Release Date: 27/08/2007



01) War – Wailing Souls
02) Where Is Jah –  Reggae Regulars
03) Born For A Purpose – Doctor Alimantado
04) Look Youthman – Barrington Levy
05) Another One Bites The Dust – Clint Eastwood & General Saint
06) Wa-Do-Dem – Eek-A-Mouse
07) Zungguzungguguzungguzeng – Yellowman
08) Pass The Tu-Sheng Peng – Frankie Paul
09) Under Mi Sleng Teng – Wayne Smith
10) Hello Darling – Tippa Irie
11) Rumours – Gregory Isaacs
12) Telephone Love – JC Lodge
13) Pirates´ Anthem – Home T, Cocoa Tea & Shabba Ranks
14) Twice My Age –  Krystal & Shabba Ranks
15) The Going Is Rough – HomeT, Cocoa Tea & Cutty Ranks

CD 2

01) Oh Carolina – Shaggy
02) Too Young  – Cocoa Tea & Buju Banton
03) Down In The Ghetto- Bounty Killer
04) Lord Watch Over Our Shoulder – Garnett Silk
05) Over You – Beres Hammond
06) Black Woman & Child – Sizzla
07) Who Am I – Beenie Man
08) Heads High – Mr.Vegas
09) Blood Stain – Ward 21
10) Log On – Elephant Man
11) No Letting Go – Wayne Wonder
12) Under Mi Sensi – Alozade, Mr Vegas & Hollowpoint
13) Tekk – Vybz Kartel
14) Hail The King –  Fantan Mojah
15) Dutty Wine – Tony Matterhorn

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.