- Check here for the entire history of Hip Hop in the British Isles and a comprehensive database of UK Hip Hop releases.
Home arrow Reviews arrow Various Artists - Evolution Of Hip Hop Vol. 2 CD [Hip Hop Informant]
Sunday, 19 January 2020
Main Menu
Contact Us
News Feeds
Site Pre Oct '05
BHH Myspace
Any donation you can make will help keep the site online.
Donate towards my web hosting bill!
Various Artists - Evolution Of Hip Hop Vol. 2 CD [Hip Hop Informant]
User Rating: / 5
Written by Administrator   
Monday, 21 September 2009
Various Artists - Evolution Of Hip Hop Vol. 2 CD [Hip Hop Informant]The Hip Hop Informant is back with the second volume of his Evolution Of Hip Hop Series. Its billed as a mixtape and I'm not sure why as this is a simple compilation. Regardless the selection of tracks is top notch and an eye-opener to the sheer variety of Hip Hop that is available out there right now. There is a grime feel to some of the tracks, but that is not to say that there isn't a few boom bap classics in there as well as a few obligatory shout outs, (propers to Natureboy Rowe who even shouts out!!).

This is a bumper package with 30 tracks and the calibre of the artists is testament to the Hip Hop Informant's selection process.

Upfront we are treated to a few UK tracks, 777 known to me as an internet rapper proves that he is much more than that with Remix Baby. Mikey Faceless follows with I Remember which features E from the lost. Its a track immediately standing out a a very tasty morsel with fresh horns neatly placedfor an upbeat stomper.

I have to say that the quality of the mixdowns on each track is not uniform, with some of the tracks having a more puny or noisy feeling which makes them not stand out like some of the others.

Natureboy Rowe has four tracks on here, track 14 - 16 Candy Thang which features Pimp C and is produced by Rick Flare, When I Roll Up and Gotta Get It with Girls Gone Wild later.

There is a Authentic Bros. section where they offer up a couple of tracks. They're a duo we interviewed recently and whilst its true that some of their tracks can be a bit poppy and synthersizery these offerings are hard and much better.

Towards the end, Simple Samples offer up A Day In The Life - a clever story rap in which the MCs take the place inturn of a druggie theif, a shop owner and hilariously a Community Support Officer. We have supported these guys for a while and this track clearly demonstrates the skills that the crew have to offer.

The compilation is available for download now from

Track List:

01. Simple Samples Drop
02.777 Remix - Simple Samples ft. Baby
03. I Remember - Mike Faceless ft. E from the L.O.S.T
04. Unforgivable Blackness - Hired Gun
05. Play Me - Hired Gun
06. Articulate Drop
07. The New Street Kings -Wordsmith ft. Articulate & Black Knight
08. Bullet Drop
09. Mr Robotic - Bullet
10. Sha Stimuli Drop
11. Gotta Get $ - Sha Stimuli
12. Hit em Up - Sha Stimuli
13. Candy Thang - Natureboy Rowe ft. Pimp C
14. When I Roll Up - Natureboy Rowe
15. Gotta Get It - Natureboy Rowe
16. London Drop - Falken August
17. Guns On Safety - CAUSE
18. Authentic Bros Drop
19. Angels & Demons - Authentic Bros
20. Power - Authentic Bros
21. Beginning Of The End - Poetic Pilgrimage
22. Intergalactic Sol - Poetic Pilgrimage
23. Ghetto Amerikkka - Lottery
24. Girls Gone Wild - Natureboy Rowe
25. A Day In The Life - Simple Samples
26. KM Drop
27. Knock You Down Remix - KM
28. Casanova - Yung Kurt (Bonus Summer Track)

Did you enjoy this? Please share or bookmark with:

Related Items:

Newer Items:

Older Items:

< Prev   Next >

How much would you pay for an album?
Selected Items
Scorzayzee - Gangsta Wraps (Take The Throne) 12" [Gangsta Wraps]

article thumbnail

Read Story
Da Flyy Hooligan - Asantihini [Video]

article thumbnail

Read Story
"Veteran" By Name, Veterans By Nature: Tone Chop And Frost Gamble Release New EP And Set

article thumbnail

Read Story
  • Subscribe in a reader
  • Subscribe to britishhiphop by Email

1999-2017 / QED