Yes King - Rock This World CD [Yes King]

The brainchild of production duo Mark Rae and Rhys Adams, Yes King fuse a melée of styles from hip hop, dancehall, ragga and ska into their own unique brand…

The album kicks off with ‘Champion Sound’, an afro-disco-bashment stomper guaranteed to move any dance floor and is followed by the hard hitting ‘Style Come Different' a psychedelic disco groove with gritty dancehall vocals from Sweetie Irie – who has been at the forefront of the UK Ragga scene since the eighties collaborating with artists such as Ian Brown and Gorillaz.

Next up is a track which is sure to win R&B and reggae fans over to the Yes King sound, ‘Circles’, featuring the vocal talents of Ayak – a 22 year old female singer / rapper who won the 2004 Prince’s Trust Urban Music Award.

Elsewhere ‘One Of Those Days’ is a swinging hip-hop head nodder where Mystro – arguably the UK’s finest lyricist with a critically acclaimed debut album under his belt – takes the listener on a lyrical journey through a medley of strings and stabs. This is followed by the infectious horns and hard hitting beats of ‘Crunch’ which features four of the UK’s most respected MC’s; Tor, Ayak, Mystro and the only female member of legendary UK bashment crew Suncycle, Baby Chann.

War’ is a Mexican ska / rock sound with roots vocal from a UK based dancehall artist with a string of top ten hits to his name – Kenny Knotts.  Title track ‘Rock This World’  features an unmissable collaboration of Dawn Penn -immortalised by her dancehall classic ‘No, No, No’ alongside Mystro and Kenny Knotts.

40 Long Days’ brings gospel, soul and pop into the mix and then Ayak smashes it with ‘Love Revolution’, demonstrating the full range of her lyrical and vocal skills. Original Jamaican reggae deejay of Hi Power Soundsystem Prezident Brown brings us back down to earth with his conscious and optimistic song ‘Tomorrow Is Another Day’ which guarantees to bring out the sunshine wherever you are listening from.

Claude’s Theme’ is the only instrumental on the album and is a beautifully arranged piece of music crossing new boundaries in instrumental Hip Hop. Last up is ‘Elevate’ a classic sounding soul track with a performance from Ayak that displays maturity beyond her years.

To top it off three excellent bonus tracks are included, just to make sure you know that there’s much more to follow from Yes King.

Release Date: 5th March 2008

Yes King - Rock This World CD [Yes King]

Track list:

01. Champion Sound
02. Style Come Different
03. Circles
04. One Of Those Days
05. Crunch
06. War
07. Rock This World
08. 40 Long Days
09. Love Revolution
10. Tomorrow Is Another Day
11. Claude’s Theme
12. Elevate

Bonus Tracks:

13. Love Revolution (Neon Heights Mix)
14. Crunch (Richie Phoe Mix)
15. Style Come Different (Monde Green Mix)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.