The Roots Announce Dates In Manchester And Bristol

Grammy award winning hip-hop trailblazers The Roots are set to release Rising Down on April 28th via Def Jam Recordings. Known for their prolific lyrics and live instrumentation, the legendary Philadelphia crew is composed of Tariq “Black Thought” Trotter (vocals), Ahmir “?uestlove” Thompson (drums), Kamal Gray (keyboards), Frank Knuckles (percussion), Kirk “Captain Kirk” Douglas (guitar) and Owen Biddle (bass).

Garnering critical praise throughout their career, The Roots have firmly established themselves as a band with uncompromised artistic control and integrity. With Rising Down, the band’s tenth album release, The Roots continue to take bolder steps adding new depths and range to their repertoire.

The Roots co-founder ?uestlove states, “This is probably our most political album to date, dealing with addiction, nihilism, hypocritical double standards in the prison system and overall life in Philadelphia.  I'd say it’s more mature and intense than all of our efforts, but not a ‘downer’ as most people expect us to do”.

The political nature of Rising Down is not only heard within the music. The title comes from William T. Vollmann’s treatise on violence entitled “Rising Up and Rising Down”, and the release date falls on the 16th anniversary of the Los Angeles riots that were sparked by the acquittal of the police officers accused of beating Rodney King.

Standout tracks include: “Criminal” a reflection of life on the streets and unjust persecution; “I Will Not Apologize” a tribute to Fela Kuti that discusses keeping dignity in the music biz; and “I Can’t Help It” a look at addictions and urges that compel us all. The pop-infused first single- “Birthday Girl”- features Fall Out Boy frontman Patrick Stump. With additional guests on the album including Common, Mos Def, Talib Kweli, Saigon, Dice Raw, Wale, Chrisette Michele and more (see track listing below).
Album RISING DOWN out April 28th.


01. The Pow Wow
02. Rising Down- feat. Mos Def and Styles P
03. Get Busy- feat. Dice Raw, Peedi Crack and DJ Jazzy Jeff
04. @15
05. 75 Bars (Black's Reconstruction)
06. Becoming Unwritten
07. Criminal- feat. Saigon and Truck North
08. I Will Not Apologize- feat. P.O.R.N. and Dice Raw
09. I Can't Help It- feat. Malik B and P.O.R.N.
10. Singing Man- feat. Truck North and P.O.R.N.
11. Unwritten – feat. Mercedes Martinez
12. Lost Desire- feat. Talib Kweli and Malik B
13. The Show- feat. Common
14. Rising Up- feat. Chrisette Michelle and Wale
15. Birthday Girl- feat. Patrick Stump

The Roots
Tuesday December 2nd – Manchester Academy – 0161 832 1111
Wednesday December 3rd – Bristol Academy – 0870 771 2000

Tickets £18.50 on sale Wednesday July 23rd @ 9am
Available at 24 hr cc hotline 0871 2200 260

The Roots

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.